Book Review: Lord of the flies

Posted on Updated on

Lord of The Flies by William Golding is one of those novels people label as timeless and a classic, and a MUST read, so I read it.

 

Goodreads synopsis

As dystopian stories like Hunger Games and Battle Royale surge in popularity, this haunting tale of a group of young boys stranded on a desert island still captivates school children around the world, raising timeless and profound questions about how easily society can slip into chaos and savagery when rules and order have been abandoned.

General thoughts and review

I wasn’t expecting the book to get as graphic as it did at time. Tugging at the human elements and how easy it is for a group of people to turn from civilized to degenerates. A lot of the characters were dynamically different that it allowed for the nonsensical plotline to work perfectly. It’s something unsettling about reading a bunch of young teens killing and sodomizing pigs, barbaric in its nature it’s the picture of survival and group think. When good and evil clash, these boys turn over to evil. LotF is as much a psychological thriller as it is about society. Where the boys are equal parts paranoid of “the beast” and live, without actually seeing it, in fear of it. Typically I have a favorite character but I just didn’t care enough about any of them. I mean they were all just kind of  annoying.

Diversity scale and critic

As far as diversity scale goes it was a bunch of teen boys stuck on an Island, it was probably more diversity among the animals they saw on the island. One big problem I have with this book is how unrealistic it seems. I don’t know if it was the fact that I walked in expecting a more realistic telling of people stuck on an island but nothing about this actually made sense. Also for a classic it sure was slow. Like first half of the book is boring slow. It also wasn’t anything special. It feels like also any other novel that tries to look into human nature and the tug for humanity when isolated and morals and judgments are abandoned.

Final thoughts

I mean its a quick read if you don’t have anything to read. It’s your average dystopian novel except overpraised.

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Lord of the flies

    Read Diverse Books said:
    June 23, 2016 at 5:46 pm

    Haha, I totally understand why you’re not very impressed with Lord of the Flies. I read it in high school and thought it was just OK then and have thought that I may appreciate it more as an adult. Perhaps not. >.<

    I like your use of a diversity scale. Are you doing that with your reviews now?
    This book is definitely a 0 on that scale. lmao. All the characters are white boys.

    Like

      dembooksdoee responded:
      June 23, 2016 at 7:51 pm

      Yup, I’m going to add a diversity scale on all my reviews for now. Or atleast the ones I remember.

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.