5th Wave review

Posted on Updated on

I just finished reading The 5th Wave, and while i’m not a fan of books involving aliens, (or aliens in general.) this book grew on me. I have to admit, the first 50 to 75 pages didnt grab my attention. To the point where I put the book down several times throughout the week and almost considered not finishing it. I over came this apathy really, really fast. Once I started reading it again I was hooked. Kind of like that TV show that has a kind of okay first episode but an amazing season. This book took me on an roller coaster I had no idea I was about to take. Part of me wasnt ready, another part of me was thrilled to here. The main character Cassie follows the footsteps and the blue-print of so many other heroic female driven novels. With such bravery, ambition, and tenacity she keeps us on our feet as we –for the most part– follow her on this journey of what it means to be Human. The Key theme throughout this novel is: being Human. Or being enough. As we advance throughout the sections we are introduced to a library of new characters. All of who, after finishing it, makes me question: What exactly is it that makes us Human. (When reflecting on this book) And how do we lose it? (I’m going to try and be as spoiler free as possible) We meet characters who don’t have a sense of what it means to be human? Characters who know that there is only one possible outcome to this invasion they are under: Death. This, fear, this realization that they can only postpone death for so long affects their psych; to point where some people go ‘Dorothy’. As we read we realize how easy it is to dehumanize and militarize people, and vice versa how easy it is to humanize and demilitarize people.
This book has two important plot twist in my opinion. The first, for me at least was kind of ruined when we first were introduced to Vosch. When we finally got pieces put together after the scene with Reznik on the roof, I was happy I understood a lot of things. But I wasn’t surprised. I kind of already guessed it by this point because of the whole Camp Ashpit. The second plot twist, well more like an OMG moment, for me was the Shark scene. I feel like, after-wise, had I been more INVESTED in their relationship I wouldn’t have seen it coming, but to be honest. The scenes of them in the cabin bored me a bit.
What Rick Yancey does so well with this book is the with his writing he keeps the action up.  For to often we read books with passive syntax, and here you’re..eventually…thrust into a game. survival vs Sacrifice. At any moment your fav can die. (Kind of Like game of thrones) The book is divided into 91 chapters…or passages. But then those 91 sections are separated by 13 larger sections. What I think fell a little short, was that after awhile the narrative begins to switch back a fourth through multiple perspectives, which at times got confusing because it wasn’t made apparent who I was actually reading at first. (I have this problem a lot) Another thing that bothers be, not just with The 5th Wave, or Rick Yancey. But this idea that YA novels need  to have a love triangle. (this is me foreshadowing the next book for the most part) But i’m not going to get off topic. One thing that bothered me is I feel as if this book wasn’t quotable. Not to many statements stuck out to me as profound, The ones I did like however, will be posted below. I enjoyed The 5th Wave, I give it three out of five dog ears.

“Private Zombie, you have two seconds, exactly two seconds, to seal that sewer pipe posing as a mouth, or I will incinerate your ass with the rest of the infested alie sons of bitches!”

Okay, I just realized something that bothered me, this has a  minor spoiler in it, so if you’re going to read this book, consider that before continuing. But  this dialogue that happens between Cassie and Evan right during the first kiss. Isn’t appropriate It sends the wrong signals to people. This might be the over feminist/activist in me, but it bothered me while I was reading it. Thank god they didn’t “Have sex”.  As authors and writers, we need to find a better way to romanticize a couple instead of having women say no to a mans advances and having the man brush it off and continuing anyway. OR at least add a part where the woman is giving verbal consent to continue. I know “It was just a kiss” That’s. not. the. point. though. But once again, I digress. Another place, Another time. Another post.

