More Happy…review

Posted on Updated on

MORE HAPPY THAN NOT is Adam Silvera’s debut novel that has taken the internet, and myself by storm. ( If you haven’t already seen my dream movie casting o51XS1ZfTVLL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_.jpgf this novel click here)

This month I unintentionally filled a lot of my reading with books that centered around gay-protagonist. ( Simon vs The homo sapiens Agenda, Grasshopper Jungle, I’ll give You The Sun, Giovanni’s room and, More Happy Than Not) This wasn’t my intent. I tend to be a more harsh critic of YA -lgbt novels. Because they, unlike their hetero counterparts play a more important role because of the lack of representation…With that being said every novel I read for the first time this month (Which is all minus Giovanni’s room) Has impressed me.

Time for the Actual review (Non-spoiler):

Halfway through the book I thought I knew the plot twist. I was reading and expected for what I thought would happen to happen and it never did. MHTN is a beautiful novel that takes you on this journey that tackles serious issues like homophobia, depression, and suicide. But in a way that’s not to heavy-handed or over political. This book follows Aaron as he discovers a new happiness when his girlfriend Genevieve leaves him for a couple of weeks. This new happiness takes shape in a guy named Thomas he meets by chance while hiding. We get to be apart of this evolving friendship, and his relationship with his old friends that takes us by the hand and doesn’t let us go. All while exploring the interrelation awkwardness he maintains with his brother and mother.

Now most people would probably consider this book to be slow. Which, I guess if you’re reading only in a rush to reach the twist and finish it then yeah, you’re gonna think its slow. You’re expecting to reach the end instead of smelling the roses that Silvera has written for you.This book is super diverse, which I love. I love diverse LGBT books that take the narrative off coming of age novels about a white cis males.

I give this book four dog ears out of five. What makes this book not another coming-out-novel is, like the other books I read this month, they all added an element or a twist to them that took an unconventional approach to them. A lot of time people complain (Straight people)  that they’re tired of reading coming out novels, or they wished the characters could be gay without having to deal with the added benefit of coming out. Like being gay in theory (As I wrote about in an earlier post) However, this book gives a voice to those who don’t feel the need to speak. Its been a long time coming of reading about the Manic Pixie dream girls and the ridiculous love hetero-sexist love triangles. I’m glad that the coming-of-age novels are emerging in the YA section. I’m glad they’re not cliche. I’m glad we have authors like Adam Silvera, Becky Albertalli, Jandy Nelson, David Leviathan, Alex London and so many more who aren’t afraid to take risk. And I’m glad we have the publishing companies and editors willing to work and back these amazing books despite the content and backlash that might follow suit.

This following month I won’t be reading as much, or posting. (Gonna back log and Queue) Will be working on finishing my Novel for NaNoWiMo. If you wanna get updates or give words of encouragement, jusssst let me know.

As always,

Read books because you can. Read books because you want too. Read books that inspire you. Read books that you WANT to read, how you WANT to read, and WHERE you want to read.

